National Emergency Number Association
Ontario Chapter
President's Award

Memorial President's Award

The NENA Ontario Chapter has established the Memorial President’s Award In memory of Chapter President Peter Gallant, who passed away early this year.  This award will be presented annually at the NENA Ontario Conference to the nominee who exemplifies the qualities and love of their job in emergency services that were exhibited by Peter throughout his lifetime.  Download the nomination form (here)

2015 Memorial President’s Award Recipient

This year’s winner is Krista Neilson from Niagara Regional Police Service. The nomination was received from Robin Johnstone, Training Coordinator also of NRPS. Krista has been with NRPS for 12 years starting as a Communicator and recently taking on the responsibility of Platoon Training Officer.  Congratulations Krista!

Presenting the award is Peter Gallant's daughter Jacqueline (left) also a Communicator with NRPS and Peter's wife Diane Gallant (right).

2014 Winner

Karen Dmytryshyn joined the Metropolitan Toronto Police Force in 1982 as a call taker/dispatcher. In 1991 Karen was promoted to the Supervisor Tape Analysis. She is also a Commissioner of Oaths. In 2008, Karen was again promoted this time to Coordinator, Voice Radio Systems. She is a model employee, great supervisor, natural born leader and is respected by all.  Congratulations Karen!

2013 Winner

Angela Weber has been a call taker / dispatcher with the Guelph Fire Department for 8 years. Angela worked a total of 9 years with Orangeville Police, Cambridge CACC and OPP (Mount Forest Communication Centre). All of these jobs involved call taking / dispatching. She is passionate about her chosen profession and is someone her peers and the public can depend upon. Congratulations Angela. Presenting the award are past NENA Ontario President Larry Breen (left) and current President Linda Dickson (right).

2012 Winner

This year's winner is Lisa Nash from Durham Regional Police Service. The nomination was submitted by Sue Knox also of DRPS. Lisa has been a member of DRPS communications for 26 years. She started as a communicator, moving on to assistant supervisor and communications supervisor. Lisa is currently filling the role of Communications Training Coordinator. Congratulations Lisa.

Left to Right - Larry Breen (NENA ON Past President), Lisa Nash (DRPS), Linda Dickson (NENA ON President)

2011 Winners

Amy MacNeill and Julie Crispo, from Peel Regional Police are the 2011 recipients of the Memorial President's Award. The nomination was submitted by Grace Kempers also of Peel Regional Police. Julie has been an employee of PRPD for 11 years and has been with the organization for 6 years. Congratulations to both of you.

2010 Winner
Laura Phillips is with Guelph Police Services and is a Communications Trainer. Her nomination was submitted to the NENA Ontario executive by Sgt. Ron Lord, Communications Supervisor Guelph Police Service. Laura is in her 24th year at Guelph Police and is the very first recipient of the NENA Ontario Chapter Board of Directors’ Memorial Presidents Award that will be presented annually in the memory of Peter Gallant.

Laura Phillips (middle), Larry Breen, NENA Ontario President  (left), and Diane Gallant (right). Congratulations Laura.